PUC News
News Photo
PUC - Mon, Aug. 22, 2011
Pacific Union College was named the recipient of the 2010-11 Cal Pac Sportsmanship Award, as announced by Commissioner Don Ott, at the annual Cal Pac Convention on Sunday, August 21. The Pioneers were recognized as the program best exemplifying the value of respect found in sport.
"We are very honored to receive this recognition from our fellow members in the Cal Pac Conference. We are proud to be a member of a conference that strives to make character such a focal point in our competition," said athletic director Robert Castillo. For the sixth year in a row, each one of the member institutions received at least one vote in the tally. "This is a testament to the quality and character of our student-athletes here at Pacific Union College and throughout the Cal Pac Conference," added Castillo.
The California Pacific Conference recognizes one institution each year with the Sportsmanship Award. The balloting is done by the coaches for each sport at he conclusion of their respective sport's season. Each coach ranks their top two choices, and the institution with the most points at the conclusion of the sporting season wins the award. This is the eleventh year the Cal Pac Conference has awarded a Sportsmanship Award to a member institution.
Cal Pac Commissioner Don Ott said, "Pacific Union College represents all that is right in the Cal Pac, as their student-athletes exemplify the highest standards of sportsmanship as they compete with passion. I'm personally inspired when I see the consensus of the conference recognizing and applauding that core value at PUC. Along with speaking highly for the quality of the team members, it certainly reflects the leadership of the administrators and coaches."
This is the fifth time Pacific Union College has be honored with this recognition, the first time since the 2007-2008 season. Only Simpson University has won the award more times, with a total of six.


2009-10 Simpson

2007-08 Pacific Union College
2006-07 Pacific Union College
2005-06 Pacific Union College
2004-05 Menlo
2003-04 Simpson
2002-03 Pacific Union College
2001-02 Simpson
2000-01 Simpson
1999-2000 Simpson